2020 AAMBC Awards Winner List

Debut Author of the Year 

SLAY  by Brittney Morris

Sci Fi/Fantasy Writer of the Year

Tomi Adeyemi

Urban Book of the Year

Ethic 6 by Ashley Antoinette 

Best Podcast

The Read

Television Show of the Year

When They See Us

Reader’s Choice Award

Tiffany D. Jackson 

Screenwriter of the Year

Larry Wilmore, Insecure

Motion Picture of the Year

The Sun Is Also a Star

Christian Fiction Author of the Year

Kimberla Lawson Roby

Book Reviewer of the Year 

Brown Girl Reading

Romance Author of the Year

Rebel (Women Who Dare) by Beverly Jenkins

Male Author of the Year

Marlon James 

Female Author of the Year

Angie Thomas

Street Lit Writer of the Year

Ashley Antoinette

Editor of the Year

Necole Kane “Xo Necole“ 

Non- Fiction/Self Help Book of the Year

The Memo: What Women of Color Need to Know to Secure a Seat at the Table by Minda Harts

Blogger of the Year

Kish Burries

eBook of the Year

Black Leopard, Red Wolf (The Dark Star Trilogy Book 1)  by Marlon James

Publisher of the Year

Dafina Books

Vanguard of Urban Media

The Shade Room

Children Books/YA Author of the Year

Hair Love  by Matthew A. Cherry , Vashti Harrison

Literary Activists of the Year

Ola Ronke Akinmowo

Breakout Author of the Year

American Spy by Lauren Wilkinson

Book Club of the Year

Well Read Black Girl


Maya Angelou Lifetime Achievement 

Terry McMillan

Bernice McFadden 

Urban Classic Award

Friends and Lovers by Eric Jerome Dickey 

Francis Ray Trailblazer Award

Lena Waithe or Tayari Jones  – lena waithe missing

Nate Holmes Honorary Award

Karen E. Quinones Miller 

Vanguard of Urban Media 

Cathy Hughes


Alice Walker

Pearl Cleage

Posted in


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!