Lights, Camera, Action! Here’s a List of AAMBC’s 2023 Nominations

It’s that time of year again; the AAMBC Awards nominations have been revealed. The AAMBC Awards celebrates black writers, editors, publishers, and countless others. It’s a way to recognize those who have made changes and contributions to the creative world while inspiring people of color to follow their dreams. And like previous years, the AAMBC awards will take place in front of a live studio audience on August 6th.

Like last year, there are plenty of big names on this list. It includes Robin Reads, Tami Reed, Urban Books, and Kennedy Ryan. It was also revealed that New York Times best-selling author and TV host Kwame Alexander and legendary artists Frank Morrison will be honored at this year’s ceremony. These nominees have broken countless barriers and introduced many new ideas and conversations into the black creative world. With that said, let’s look at the AAMBC Awards nominee list.

Book Reviewer of the Year

  • Comfy Cozy Up
  • Robin Reads
  • Brown Girl Reading
  • Books En Vogue
  • Shades N Pages

Children’s YA Author of the Year

  • Remi Blackwood, Future Hero
  • Tiffany D. Jackson, The Weight of Blood
  • Talia Hibbert, Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute
  • Mary J. Blige, Mary Can!
  • Krystal Marquis, The Davenports

Blogger of the Year

  • Tami Reed
  • Bianca Dottin
  • Jaleesa Reads
  • Coco Bassey
  • Rene Brooks

Publisher of the Year

  • Bookouture
  • Penguin Random House
  • Kensington Publishing
  • Simon & Schuster
  • Urban Books

Best Podcast of the Year

  • Drink Champs
  • Code Switch
  • The Know For Sure
  • 85 South Show
  • Girl Stop Playin’

Independent Publisher of the Year

  • Third World Press Foundation
  • Akashic Books
  • Atria Books
  • RedBone Press
  • Broadside Lotus Press

Editor of the Year

  • Phillip Lewis
  • Todd Hunter
  • Shana Murph
  • Darryl Oliver
  • George White

Male Author of the Year

  • Rod Palmer
  • S.A. Cosby
  • Jonathan Escoffery
  • Jabari Asim
  • Carl Weber

Christian Fiction Author of the Year

  • Tiffany L. Warren, A Favorite Son Christmas
  • Nickki Smith, Standing on Unspoken Prayers
  • Maya Kay, The Essence of His Soul
  • Latoya Battle, He Saw my Needs — A Christian Romance Novel
  • Terralyn McFarland, Sins of A Pastor

Urban Book of the Year

  • Friday I’m in Love
  • The Davenports
  • On the Rooftop
  • Drunk on Love
  • Black Cake

Screenwriter of the Year

  • Dewayne Perkins
  • Elize Diop
  • Branden Jacobs Jenkins
  • Mike Gauyo
  • Numa Perrier

Reader’s Choice Award

  • The House of Eve
  • Take My Hand
  • Like a Sister
  • You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty
  • The Dust Bowl Orphans

Motion Picture of the Year

  • Till
  • The Woman King
  • Creed 3
  • Alice
  • A Jazzman’s Blues

Television Show of the Year

  • Snowfall
  • Reasonable Doubt
  • Ms. Pat Show
  • The Upshaws
  • Kindred

Romance Author of the Year

  • Monica Walters
  • Stacey Abrams
  • A. E. Valdez
  • Christina C. Jones
  • B Love

Vanguard of Urban Media

  • Black Girl Nerds
  • The Shade Room
  • Shadow & Act
  • Blavity
  • #blkcreatives

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Writer of the Year

  • Shanora Williams
  • J. Eelle
  • Ayana Gray
  • Liselle Sambury
  • Tracy Deonn

eBook of the Year

  • Hold You Down
  • Black Girls Must Have It
  • In Thug Love with a Chi-Town Millionaire: An Urban Romance
  • Before I Let Go
  • The Coldest Secret Ever

Non-Fiction Self Help Book of the Year

  • Uphill by Jemele Hill
  • Walking in My Joy by Jenifer Lewis
  • We Over Me by Khadeen Ellis & Devale Ellis
  • You Owe You by Eric Thomas
  • Finding Me by Viola Davis

Literary Activist of the Year

  • Curtis Bunn
  • Donna Craddock & Donya Craddock
  • Cyrus Webb
  • Amanda Gorman
  • Lasheera Lee

Book Club of the Year

  • Well Read Black Girl
  • Bourbon Street Bookers
  • Tristyn’s Book Club
  • Black AF Book Club
  • Sistah Girls Book Club

Best Bookstore of the Year

  • The Lit Bar
  • Semicolon Bookstore & Gallery
  • Brave and Kind Bookshop
  • Baldwin & Co.
  • Mahogany Books

Female Author of the Year

  • Kennedy Ryan
  • Victoria Christopher Murray
  • Tiffany D. Jackson
  • Sadeqa Johnson
  • Mary Monroe

Breakout Author of the Year

  • Ayanna Lloyd Banwo
  • Khadeen Ellis & Devale Ellis
  • Mea Monique
  • Sidik Fofana

Congratulations to our amazing nominees! Now, it’s time to pick a winner. Visit to place your vote for your favorite nominee. The winner will be announced at the Frame 88 Studios on August 6th. Once again, congratulations to the nominees. We hope to see you at this year’s AAMBC 23 awards event!

Posted in


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.